Historic Temples

Coordinates: 37.979349, 23.728365

Church of Agia Paraskevi

On the pedestrian walk of Aiolou street, at the centre of Athens, next to the impressive church of Panagia Chrysospiliotissa is the small picturesque church of Agia Paraskevi.

It was constructed during the Turkish occupation of Greece and according to written testimonies initially it was a chapel of the church of Panagia Chrysospiliotissa. In 1762 it was given to the Monastery of Osios Meletios Kithairona and then it became its Metochi, mainly due to the fact that the monks of the monastery needed a place to stay, when they had to spend the night in Athens. From 1883 to 1928 it became part, together with the Monastery of Osios Meletios, of the Monastery of Faneromeni in Salamina, and for this reason it was called the “Aeginitiko Metochi”. Today it belongs again to the Monastery of Osios Meletios.

Architecturally it follows the type of one-aisled vaulted basilica and on the northern side a small aisle has been added, where they have constructed a representation of the hideous Calvary. The wall paintings that decorate its interior date from 1930. The church celebrates on July 26th.



16th-17th century (Turcocracy)


26 July

Holy Metropolis: 
Archdiocese of Athens

Aiolou 62, Historical Centre 10560

Metro Monastiraki / Panepistimio

Sights nearby

Sights on the map

Same region article